About Us

Your Future in Learning Technologies

A degree in Learning Technologies will prepare you for your career through a broad knowledge of tools, techniques and methods used by learning technology professionals. Areas of focus include: Game Design, Information Processing, Instructional Systems, and Technologies for Internet Development.

The learning technologies program helps you develop critical thinking and problem-solving skills for selecting, using and implementing a variety of technology tools in STEM fields. Coursework focuses on learning strategies that allow students with a natural inclination toward STEM to pursue their passions in applied contexts. Our goal is to educate a new generation of learning technology professionals capable of taking leadership roles, applying technology, and creating innovative applications for information and knowledge management initiatives within an organization.

As a graduate with a BAS in Learning Technologies, you will be uniquely positioned to follow several career paths that involve the use of technology and information to improve human performance. You may apply approved technical or formal coursework from your AAS, military training or STEM-related field, and have the option of following your passion in a variety of professional STEM concentrations approved by the LT Program.

After completing your degree, you may find yourself taking a leadership role with a position such as:

  • Computer graphic designer
  • Game designer
  • Instructional design specialist
  • Network administrator
  • Organizational development specialist
  • Project manager
  • Software developer
  • Web master

College of Information

The College of Information (COI) at the University of North Texas (UNT) was founded on Oct. 1, 2008 by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. The COI is made of faculty, staff and students who invest in innovative research, collaborative partnerships and learner-centered education. The college provides knowledge that advances and supports the relationships between information, people, institutions and agencies, language, and technology.

What we offer

The faculty in the Department of Learning Technologies offers you a world-class educational experience with leading experts in the field. The LT faculty are well-known in professional circles all over the world. Our faculty and students make an impact. They are professionals who believe in the application of technology and its power to increase productivity, improve efficiency, increase the potential for learning, level the playing field, and provide ubiquitous computing across a variety of learning, performance and workplace environments.

What to expect

You can expect a strong program, a commitment to providing you with the best educational experience possible, coursework that is challenging and thought-provoking, and feedback on your instructional work. Our faculty and staff will assist you in developing a unique degree plan, which optimizes credit from previously completed coursework and/or experiences. It will also include the completion of:

  • 36 hours of upper-level coursework
  • 24 hours of upper-division coursework in residence
  • 60 hours of STEM coursework

At least 30 hours of the degree must be earned through UNT.

Degree requirements

  • 12 hours of required core courses
  • 9 hours of electives in technology/foundation courses
  • 24 hours of professional development concentration courses
  • 21 hours in your area of specialization
  • 12 hours of electives

You can complete this degree as a traditional undergraduate student or as a transfer student with earned post-secondary hours.

Follow Us

Facebook  Instagram